Film & Music Playlist: AUTUMN EDITION

Lets just roll with the utter ecstatic episode I am having over Autumn, shall we?

autum5

As a Film and Music buff, I thought I’d give some suggestions for the kind of things you can watch and listen to this season…

Now, let’s start with the Films… 

These aren’t necessarily set in Autumn but, I just think they sort of match the moods and tones of what we can see outside the window…

1. Big Fish (2003)

Big-Fish_Ewan-McGregor-Fantasy1

I am Tim Burton obsessed. Ever since I sat down to watch The Nightmare Before Christmas as a child, I have just been utterly mesmerised by his world. Burton captures our inner struggles and ever changing perspectives with his intricate, often chaotic landscapes. And out of them all, I would consider Big Fish his greatest creation. You will fall in love with Ed Bloom, his stories and the amazing characters he meets along the way. Trust me, you will need a box of tissues or a cushion to weep into at the end!

SCENE TO LOOK OUT FOR: Bloom sees the love of his life for the first time in a Circus and time literally stands still.

FAVOURITE QUOTE: “Everybody’s there, and I mean everybody. And the strange thing is, there’s not a sad face to be found, everyone’s just so happy to see you.”

2. Garden State (2004) 

96c130f2810c7f7be4f7aae47d3a3ead

Zach Braff is a genius. I cannot fathom how he managed to create Andrew Largeman. The most relatable character who has ever been penned. This film has it all, heartache, loss, growth, ambition, love, humour, sarcasm and most importantly, subtlety.

SCENE TO LOOK OUT FOR: You’ve seen this scene on all the posters, even the DVD cover. Largeman, his love interest Sam and old friend Mark stand over a gorge and just simply… scream.

FAVOURITE QUOTE: “You’ll see one day when you move out it just sort of happens one day and it’s gone. You feel like you can never get it back. It’s like you feel homesick for a place that doesn’t even exist. Maybe it’s like this rite of passage, you know. You won’t ever have this feeling again until you create a new idea of home for yourself, you know, for your kids, for the family you start, it’s like a cycle or something. I don’t know, but I miss the idea of it, you know. Maybe that’s all family really is. A group of people that miss the same imaginary place.

3. Lars and the Real Girl (2007)


4137_5

Whenever I’ve recommended this film to people and told them the basic premise, they get a little freaked out and never end up watching it. Trust me, it’s not even slightly as dark as it sounds. I found a whole new level of respect for Ryan Gosling after watching this. Basically, Lars is an endearing man in a close-knit neighbourhood who orders himself what can only be described as a sex doll. The kicker is, he believes its a real woman. Just for the sheer surprise this story brings, You NEED to see it.

SCENE TO LOOK OUT FOR: Lars takes his girl out to the woods and serenades her. His delicate voice and shy demeanour will have you itching to give him a hug and make it all go away.

FAVOURITE QUOTE: “No, that’s okay. It’s just, and I think it’s because she’s insecure, it’s just, she’s just always trying to hug everybody. You know, some people don’t like that. Some people don’t like to be hugged. But she doesn’t realize that. She takes it personally, and, it hurts her feelings. I don’t know what to do about that. Do you?”


4. It’s Kind of a Funny Story (2010)


Screen-Shot-2013-11-01-at-11.59.51-AM1-1024x550

For anyone who has suffered, is suffering or knows someone who has. This film is an honest, insightful view on the topic of mental illness. On first watch, I actually had to pause it, make a cup of tea and have a breather from all the different kinds of tears I was experiencing. You will leave feeling like you have had a successful counselling session and be itching to find out the next step of Craig’s journey.

SCENE TO LOOK OUT FOR: Actually my FAVOURITE scene of any film. EVER. Craig attends a music therapy session and is asked to sing… He nails it.

FAVOURITE QUOTE: “Okay, I know you’re thinking, “What is this? Kid spends a few days in the hospital and all his problems are cured?” But I’m not. I know I’m not. I can tell this is just the beginning. I still need to face my homework, my school, my friends. My dad. But the difference between today and last Saturday is that for the first time in a while, I can look forward to the things I want to do in my life. Bike, eat, drink, talk. Ride the subway, read, read maps. Make maps, make art. Finish the Gates application. Tell my dad not to stress about it. Hug my mom. Kiss my little sister. Kiss my dad. Make out with Noelle. Make out with her more. Take her on a picnic. See a movie with her. See a movie with Aaron. Heck, see a movie with Nia. Have a party. Tell people my story. Volunteer at 3 North. Help people like Bobby. Like Muqtada. Like me. Draw more. Draw a person. Draw a naked person. Draw Noelle naked. Run, travel, swim, skip. Yeah, I know it’s lame, but, whatever. Skip anyway. Breathe…”

5. Almost Famous (2000)

famoustommy

Oh, Almost Famous. I could write an entire post, make a shrine and dedicate a love song to how much I adore this film. If you’re a lover of music and coming-of-age zany dramas, then this one is for you. William Miller is an aspiring journalist, who follows the new rock and roll band, Stillwater on their tour. He’s writing a piece for Rolling Stone magazine and he needs to make it back for his high school exams… You will fall in love with Penny Lane, dance in your seat and battle with yourself over where William truly belongs.

SCENE TO LOOK OUT FOR: After some tough times on the road, the band family are feeling tense on the bus when Elton John’s Tiny Dancer starts to play…

FAVOURITE QUOTE:I always tell the girls, never take it seriously, if you never take it seriously, you never get hurt, you never get hurt, you always have fun, and if you ever get lonely, just go to the record store and visit your friends.”

Now for some Autumnal anthems….

I’ve made a playlist on Spotify entitled ‘Autumn Time’ for you to have a cheeky little jam to…

My top 5 songs on the playlist are:

  1. First Aid Kit – Stay Gold
  2. Counting Crows – Monkey
  3. Lady Gaga – ‘Til it Happens To You
  4. The Smiths – The Boy with the Thorn in his Side
  5. REM – Nightswimming

Hope you enjoy listening and watching!

Let me know how you found the playlists and whether there is anything you would like to add!

Have a wonderful weekend!

Autumn 7

Lisa Alice Writes…

x

10 thoughts on “Film & Music Playlist: AUTUMN EDITION

  1. Hanaa says:

    I LOVE anything Burton made!!!! And I gotta say I squealed like a little girl when I saw “Big Fish” on the list, it is on my Top 5 favorite movies!! And Tim Burton is my all time favorite director/producer…anything by him just speaks to me in a whole other level!!! As for music, if it’s Danny Elfman working with Burton then hello heavenly sounds ^_^
    Thank you for sharing, I’ll definitely resort to this list when I want to see a new movie ☺️

    Like

    1. Lisa Alice says:

      Hahaha, YES a fellow burton buddy! He is amazing!! I totally agree with you, i managed to see Danny Elfman ‘Music from Tim Burton’s Movies’ in concert! He was there! he came out and sang Oogie Boogie man! It was the best night. ever! He tours it alot all over the world, so make sure you grab a ticket next time!! 🙂 Thank you for the lovely comment & let me know how you find the films!! xxxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

