Turning 24

There’s something so enticing about birthdays

No matter how many you’ve had, you eagerly count the days down, itching with anticipation…

It used to cause stress, you’d have to plan every tiny, hairy detail; getting all your friends together, what you’d wear, what drinks you’d buy, what time the taxis would arrive…

Beach Blog

But for me, something feels different.

I’ve started to see each birthday as a reset button, a new start, another chance.

Last year has gone and there is nothing but the future to face.

This time, I was turning 24.

You may think that’s not a significant birthday but I see this as my last year before I officially reach my mid-twenties.

So, I wanted to do something extra special.

Far from the usual wanting to see my new year in with a drunken haze.

I packed the car up with my boyfriend and his new puppy, Flash and headed back to my family home in beautiful Lincolnshire.

All of us headed to Anderby Creek to give Flash his first seaside experience.

Beach Blog 2

All we did was walk, talk, laugh and explore giving me one of the most memorable birthdays I’ve ever had.

I was surrounded by those who I love and those who love me in a place that will always be my home.

What I’m hoping this reminds you to do, is to always remember what’s important.

Yes, it can be fun to go crazy.

But always make sure you don’t stress yourself out with planning and forget the beauty in simplicity.

Spend your birthday with the right people.

Spend it doing something that’s you.

Most importantly, reflect on how far you’ve come since the last one.

A lot can happen in a year.

So make sure you make the next chapter an exciting one to read.

I’m now in my 24th year and I promise to myself and you.

It’s gonna be a big one.

Don’t forget to subscribe.

Beach Blog 3

2 thoughts on “Turning 24

  1. kbeye says:

    Belated happy birthday! Sounds lovely. Spent many a happy day at Anderby Creek when I was a child ☺️ Btw, if you’ve just turned 24, you are now officially in your 25th year! Enjoy. xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

